Iveta Arnīte and her AEGEE story…

I guess my story started from my University. I had an intercultural communication lesson that seemed really interesting studies for me and I started to be curious about tourism and traveling, although my field of studies wasn`t exactly tourism. Then came the time when I had to write my bachelor thesis and chose about what to write. And I felt that it has to be something related with intenational communication. I told about this to one of my friends. It turned out that was and still is a member of the organization called AEGEE-Ogre, and he invited me to visit his AEGEE friends..

Then I started to attend AEGEE events and collect the information for my Bachelor thesis. Still I wasn`t sure why AEGEE was so special and what exactly it is about in the beginning. I became an official member only few months later, in april 2011.  But several times I heard people talking about something like AEGEE spirit. I finally started to feel it after Summer University that we organized in Ogre. Only then I realised how great is to be a member of AEGEE and how amazing the unity of many different cultures is. You can get new experience that you never have had, new impressions, inspiration and new living revelation.

Of course, I had a lot interesting adventures during my first Summer University, I met many great people and we had such a great time together. After Summer University I started more communicate in international level, and started to travel alone. I also started to study tourism in University. My first AEGEE trip was to Helsinki, where I joined some great evening parties organized by AEGEE-Helsinki. In the same autumn I also became a Secretary General of AEGEE-Ogre. Then things become even more interesting for me !

Also sometimes I like to join AEGEE-Riga and their parties, when they have some guests, as well as we always have nice events and projects with AEGEE-Ogre. I also celebrated New Year with AEGEE-Tallinn . Craziest things that before going to Tallinn, I forgot passport and I had to arrange later bus while I went home to bring the passport with me. After Summer University, my second biggest event was Spring Agora in Enschede. That was my first Agora, but also with big adventures. AEGEE experience encouraged me also to go to Erasmus. I spent  great summer in Iceland working in Reykjavik City Hostel. But at the moment I am exchange student of NHTV Breda University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands.

AEGEE has improved my personality, broaden my horizon, improved my language, communication and organization skills. I think anyone can find something interesting and usefull in AEGEE for themselves.I really believe that AEGEE changed my life. Since joining AEGEE I have realised that I can live different life now. I realised that it is so much to see around, so many places, where to travel.

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment