Story of Nordic Stars Subcommie Maria Arends

I am Maria from AEGEE-Groningen, and my story may be a bit different from others, and as someone told me lately, this may be because ‘I am from the Netherlands’. People that know me also know that this is not something I usually state in my introduction as I am not the one that gets all dressed up in orange on Queen’s Day, but I figured this person was right.

In the Netherlands, many people become members of student associations, usually already in their first year of university. So did I. It was just not AEGEE, but a more city-oriented association, called Unitas. At some point I did hear about AEGEE, and because I love travelling, I considered it, but the decision to become a member was postponed until the end of my second year. It was not because of a Summer University that I joined, but because of the trips AEGEE-Groningen organises. So, my first event was an exchange with AEGEE-Budapest, of which I still have a lot of warm memories. Then we got our annual trip to Brussels, where we stayed at the CD house and besides the crazy parties, I also got aware of the European level. The decision was made quickly: ‘this new Social Inclusion project, I want to be a part of that!’, I thought. And I am still very grateful that this chance was granted to me.
After long talks about this, we decided to re-establish the Human Rights Working Group instead of having this Social Inclusion project, and there I was, at Agora Enschede, nervously presenting the working group for so many people,  and then there was the relief and excitement when everyone just immediately ratified it by acclamation. From that moment on, I am the speaker of the Working Group, though my term is finishing in September.
Fortunately, I have enough other things to focus on: I am the Secretary of the Health4Youth project, member of the Planning Team, and a happy Subcommissioner for AEGEE-Durham, AEGEE-London, and AEGEE-Sheffield.

What has (and still does) motivated me to be active, is the great events, the amazing people you meet and run into everywhere around Europe, the feeling that you are never alone,  and the feeling that together we can really achieve a lot (see the HRWGs recent action ‘Light a candle’, you can make a picture of yourself with a candle to show your support to the Turkish demonstrators and send it to hrwg@aegee.org, it is really heart-warming to see so many people support this!) . Another thing that always keeps me motivated are Summer Universities, I have been to Sofia in 2011 and last year to Tarragona, where I will go to spend the summer again this year.

One of the countries everyone has been to, except for me, is Italy. So my actual plan was to go on SU to Bari this year, but since I might move to Spain this summer (to continue my studies in Valencia) *fingers crossed*, I had to cancel on that…

To conclude, I want to say that I am very much looking forward to meeting all of you during the wonderful RTCs and NWMs that we will have this year! I will be the crazy one without a voice!

Leave a comment